June 13, 2024

Australia and NZ Envoys Backs PTAs Deepen Trade Focus on Sri Lanka

2 min read

The need for Sri Lanka to focus more strongly on developing and liberalizing international trade
in order to embark on a positive path to recovery, was expressed by the High Commissioners for
Australia and New Zealand to Sri Lanka, at the 24th Annual General Meeting of Sri Lanka
Australia New Zealand Business Council (SLANZBC) of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce.

Committing strong support to assist Sri Lanka to emerge from the economic crisis and move
into recovery mode, Australian High Commissioner Paul Stephens and New Zealand High Commissioner Michael Appleton said that opportunities for development in sectors such as education and tourism and implementing agreements such as Preferential Trade Agreements will be promoted and supported by the two countries.

President of SLANZBC Ruwan Rajapakse who was re-elected for the year 2022/23 said the
Council would continue to play an integral role in promoting Bilateral Trade, Investment,
Technical & Economic Co-Operation, Tourism and Services between Sri Lanka & Australia
and Sri Lanka & New Zealand.

The positive sentiments were supported by Guest Speaker Amal Sanderatne, Founder and Chief
Executive of Frontier Research, who addressed the audience on ‘Sri Lankan Economy Situation
& Opportunities in Australia and New Zealand’, expressing confidence that ‘given Sri Lanka’s
the long-term story, backed by data, a growth trajectory on a recovery path is on the cards.

The following Executive Council Members were elected for the year 2022/2023 at the 24th
Annual General Meeting:

Vice-Presidents – Jehan Perinpanayagam of Infomate (Pvt) Ltd, Udara Cumaratunga of
South Asia Gateway Terminals (Pvt) Ltd, Sampath Jayasundara of hSenid Business
Solutions, Renuke Coswatte of Sri Lanka Hospitality Consultants.
committees. Subitha Maxi of AG International, Kingsley Abeywickrama of CMA CGM
Lanka, Dr. Dhananjay Kulkarni of Eduko Lanka (Pvt) Ltd, Mr. Emil Kronemberg of E C D
Global, Ruwan Kumara of Fonterra Brands Lanka (Pvt) Ltd, Jayanthi Dharmasena of Hayleys Agriculture Holdings Ltd, Chandana Amaradasa of Island Leisure Lanka (Pvt) Ltd,
Lionel D C Silva of Lidechsi Group of Companies, Gerard Victoria of Qantas Airways
Ltd, M H K M Hameez of Spillburg Holdings (Pvt) Ltd., while Delano Dias of Cargills
(Ceylon) PLC joined the Executive Committee in his capacity as the Immediate Past President.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *